Residents in Louisiana may benefit from learning more about the statistics concerning drunk driving incidents that occur in the state. According to state laws, a fourth DUI offense may be considered a felony while the third offense may be considered a misdemeanor or a felony. The first and second offenses have not had their criminal status classified under Louisiana law. Dating back to 2002, each of the 50 states now considers it unlawful to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content that exceeds .08 percent.
Every state levies two statutory offenses for people accused of drunk driving, including the widely recognized DUI, DWI or OWI charge, as well as an offense referred to as 'illegal per se". This secondary offense refers to the unlawfulness of driving with a blood alcohol content level that exceeds the state legal limit. The OWI, DUI and DWI charges are often based on the responding officers' observations and sobriety tests administered roadside.
According to statistics published by the Department of Transportation, more than 720 traffic fatalities occurred in Louisiana during 2012. Within this total, 37 percent were attributed to being alcohol-related fatalities. Among the 270 alcohol-related fatalities, approximately 33 percent involved someone registering a blood alcohol content level that exceeded the state limit.
People in Louisiana who have been injured by a drunk driver may benefit from contacting legal counsel. Plaintiffs in these cases can be awarded financial compensation to help account for medical costs, repair expenses, loss of income and other hardships related to the incident. In order to obtain restitution, lawyers may need to prove that the injuries suffered by the plaintiffs were the result of the defendant's negligence.
Source: Alcohol Alert, "Louisiana Drunk Driving Statistics", November 04, 2014